As in other Algonquian languages, in Innu there are three orders: Independent, Conjunct and Imperative.

Within each, there are several conjugations (also called verb paradigms). These distinguish tenses and moods like the Indicative, the Perceptive (or Subjective), the Indirect (or Dubitative), and the Irrealis (or Unrealized).

Conjugation Numbering for Cree-Innu-Naskapi


Independent Order
# Conjugation Name Also Called
01 Independent Indicative Present Neutral
02 Independent Indicative Present – Perceptive Subjective
03 Independent Indicative Past
04 Independent Indicative Preterit – Perceptive Subjective
05 Independent Indirect Present
06 Independent Indirect Present – Perceptive Subjective
07 Independent Indirect Past
08 Independent Indirect Past – Perceptive Subjective
09 Independent Deductive Present Dubitative
10 Independent Deductive Past Dubitative
Conjunct Order
# Conjugation Name Also Called
11a Conjunct Indicative Present Neutral
11b Conjunct Indicative Present (Changed Form)
12a Conjunct Subjunctive Subjunctive Neutral
12b Conjunct Subjunctive (Changed Form) – Iterative
13 Conjunct Indicative Preterit
14a Conjunct Indirect Dubitative Neutral
14b Conjunct Indirect (Changed Form) – Iterative
15 Conjunct Dubitative Preterit
16 Conjunct Irrealis Unrealized
Imperative Order
# Conjugation Name Also Called
17a Imperative Indicative Present Neutral, Immediate
17b Imperative Indicative Future Delayed
17c Imperative Indirect

(Conjugations with a strike-through do not exist in Innu but can be found in other languages of the Cree-Innu family.) Conjugation 4, in grey, is only used rarely and has not been fully documented yet.